Getting CMMC Certified-ISO 9001 Fairfax VA-ISO PROS #46

Getting CMMC Certified in Fairfax, Virginia (VA)

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a new standard from the Department of Defense (DoD) that is used for assessing all the contracted companies to handle its data or any of its information. Getting a certification is further proof that the contractors in question have the right policies and cybersecurity controls that ensure the safety of all the information that they process.

Before you can be certified for CMMC, the DoD is expecting you to meet the following:

  • Mitigate any risks that can appear now or in the future
  • Verify that you have full control to offer the needed security to the controlled unclassified information that is stored in the DIB’s servers.
  • Get validated by third-party that is independent and free from any form of influence
  • Establish the level of compliance out of the five different levels
  • Encourage better cybersecurity at a fee that affordable to the federal government.

CMMC certification levels

We have five different certification levels when it comes to CMMC. The many different concepts incorporated in the CMMC standards are borrowed from NIST 800-171, NIST 800-53, ISO 27001, ISO 27032, DFARS 252.204.-7012, and FedRAMP, and are further organized into five different levels as listed below:

  • Level 1 – Basic Cyber Hygiene
  • Level 2 – Intermediate Cyber Hygiene
  • Level 3 – Good Cyber Hygiene
  • Level 4 – Proactive
  • Level 5 – Advanced / Progressive

The companies or organizations that are contracted by the United States Department of Defense are tasked with safeguarding any sensitive government information. They should, therefore, have robust IT infrastructure and maturity controls that meet the standards specified in the CMMC.

A contractor can choose to comply with level one, two, three, four, or five. However, you can confirm with level three without first proving your compliance with both levels one and two. In general, to comply with a higher level, you first need to comply with all the previous lower levels. All the levels are cumulative!

CMMC Certification

No individual contractor is allowed to certify itself under the requirements of CMMC. The contractor in question can only be certified by an accredited third-party organization or individual that is authorized to audit and conduct all the necessary assessments. You will not be able to achieve anything if you are not ready to get what you need when you need it.

Finding an accredited third-party organization that you can trust is not what you can rely on to have your organization certified in Fairfax or any other part of Virginia State can be a daunting task, but not anymore since ISO Pros is at your service any time. We can help you through the implementation and certification processes.

Contact Us!

Reach out to us if you want to implement CMMC standards as required by the DoD. After going through all the processes that are needed to improve your cybersecurity system and infrastructure to meet the CMMC requirements, you can then apply for certification. We are a reputable organization that is accredited to offer the services that you need.